PDA

View Full Version : Diverting anxiety

Yggdrasil
03-21-2007, 10:11 AM
I've had some good experience this week with counting 1-2-3- etc. in my head whenever I meet something that makes me anxious outside (mostly people), and then stopping when the anxiety has passed. I hope very much the method will last. It is of course a neutral way of taking away anxiety, I don't put positive thoughts into my head, but maybe I will be able to do that (with conviction) later on.
Maybe you have some good ways of diverting anxiety yourself, you'd like to share? :)

Ygg.

dino
03-21-2007, 11:11 AM
DEAR YGGSDRASIL
I AM SO PLEASED TO SEE YOUR MANAGING TO KEEP YOUR ANXIETY LEVELS
DOWN A BIT BY YOUR COUNTING METHOD
YOU SAY YOUR DOING IT BY COUNTING 1-2-3 DUNNO IF THIS IS ANY BETTER FOR YE TO TRY BUT I ONCE TOLD A LONG TIME AGO A BETTER WAY OF DIVERTING THE ANXIETY WAS TO COUNT BACKWARDS FROM A HUNDRED MISSING OUT 2 THEN 3 ETC ETC AS SEEMINGLY THIS MAKES THE BRAIN WORK HARDER
JUST A WEE TIP IF FAILING THAT THIS MIGHT SOUND DEAD STUPID BUT SOMETIMES I GO AND GOOGLE ANXIETY SYMPTOMS OVER AND OVER ,SOMETIMES THAT CALMS ME DOWN A WEE BIT ,STUPID I KNOW I MEAN I COULD WRITE A BOOK ON ALL THE SYMPTOMS ETC IT IS LEARNING HOW TO CONTROL THEM THATS THE HARD PART
WISHING YOU ALL THE BEST YGGS
LOVE DINO
XXXXXXXX
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h117/NormaCheryl/1blessedHaveYouWhiteBear.jpgHUGS X

Yggdrasil
03-21-2007, 12:01 PM
Hey Dino,
Thanks for telling about your methods, I will try the backward counting method if my own stops working :) I can't google while walking outside though, lol, I very rarely get anxiety when indoors in my apartment.

xxx for you

03-21-2007, 12:24 PM
hey ygg,

i usually try to sing through a song in my head. pretty much the same as counting i guess, but maybe you have to think a bit more? i dunno... or times tables i do too hehe.

dec xx :P