View Full Version : hello

insanejane
02-26-2007, 06:42 AM
Well most people know me in here, but i have never posted uner his topic to say what really brought me to this site... i indeed didnt know when i first came here, and have only in the last year been "diagnosed" with ptsd..some of you know my story others dont, may help some, may trigger others(sorry in advance..)

Ok, i work as a paramedic, a job which can be a little taxing, but on the whole i never really have had a problem with the more gruesome side of it. ..Until a couple of years ago when i got the call i never wanted, a suicide attempt, my best friend... I have known this friend since i was 14, he was older than me and was like the father i never had when i was growing up, i spent all my youth out with him and his nephew, mostly at motorsport (speedway/grasstrack/stock car racing). My life has been so greatly influenced by him i cannot miss a day without thinking about him. he was in St John Ambulance with me, and encouraged me to pursue my career in the ambulance service. I have raced all sorts of motorcycles and mountain bikes and even represented Great Britain for my cycling...all with his encouragement...in fact all of my teenage memories are of being with him.

Anyhow as some of you know i work on my own in a responder car, i arrived alone to find that he had put a stanley knife to his throat/wrists and was already clinically dead. This did not stop me trying everything i could to save him, i even called the helicopter to get him to hospital quicker..needless to say he died...
i was expected to clean up and continue at work, so i did..then broke down and was for several months..

I have nightmares most nights,where I am standing over him with sticky bloody hands, crying.. then wake up soaked in sweat.